CSLB Announces New Renewal Fee Schedule

Since its creation almost 90 years ago, the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) has carried out its mission to protect consumers by regulating California’s construction industry in the most financially responsible way possible.

CSLB operations are funded entirely by license fees, and today a combination of increased costs, including extensive disaster response and a decline in the number of license renewals, necessitates that CSLB raise renewal fees to their statutory maximum.  The new fee schedule was approved as an emergency measure by the Office of Administrative Law in December of last year and takes effect February 1, 2020.

Please note that if your license expires on or after February 1, 2020 you cannot renew early to avoid the fee increase.

The decision to raise fees is not made lightly, and over the past number of years CSLB has taken multiple measures to reduce costs.  Unfortunately, CSLB cannot further reduce the expenditures that support our licensing and enforcement programs without negatively affecting our ability to process applications in a timely manner, to quickly mediate or investigate consumer complaints, and to effectively respond to disasters throughout the state.

In addition, beginning on February 1, 2020 and per Senate Bill 610 (Statutes of 2019), CSLB will start charging active C-10 Electrical contractors a supplemental $20 fee when they renew their license.  This fee is to support efforts by CSLB to enforce electrician certification requirements.

The increase in renewal fees will help ensure CSLB’s continued effectiveness in regulating the construction industry for the state of California.

The chart below highlights the current and new fee schedule.

Recent Posts

COVID-19 Updates and Resources

Latest Updates Governor Newsom Issues Executive Order N 62-20 to Expand Workers’ Compensation Utilization On May 6, Governor Newsom issued Executive Order N-62-20 declaring that COVID-19-related illness of an employee shall be presumed to have occurred in the place of…

March 20, 2020

New Employer Requirements for 2020

Minimum Wage-California’s minimum wage for employers with 25 or less employees is $12.00 and for employers with 26 or more employees is $13.00.  For exempt employees the minimum salary for 25 or less employees is $49.920.00 and for employers with 26…

January 24, 2020

Sexual Harassment Training Requirements – Governor Newsom Signs Important Industry Reforms

Governor Newsom signed two important industry bills relating to sexual harassment training, SB 778 and SB 530.  These measures deliver needed time, clarity and flexibility to union construction employers attempting to complying with the State’s expanded sexual harassment training requirements….

January 15, 2020

2019 Legislative Recap

Governor Newsom Signs Priority Industry Legislation Governor Newsom has taken swift action and signed all four of the priority industry measures sent to him. Our continued success in improving the industry by pursuing change and pushing issues in Sacramento reflects your…

January 15, 2020

Expanded Sexual Harassment and Abusive Conduct Training Requirements – SB 1343 Compliance

The highly-publicized #MeToo movement made a significant cultural impact in 2018, not only on workplaces and individuals across all industries, but also on California state lawmakers who responded by introducing and passing legislation aimed at curbing harassment in the workplace….

February 7, 2019
MORE STORIES